Skip to content

Graffiti and Urban Decay

I have been very interested in Graffiti Art and Urban Decay recently. Graffiti art can be found everywhere and in many forms. Unlike most people who see it as vandalism, I believe that Graffiti Art should be photographed and preserved. Unfortunately, Graffiti Art has struggled to be recognized as a true art form. The artists are forced to create their canvases where they can, perhaps on the side of a building, a fence, etc.

My exploration led me to an abandoned factory where Graffiti Artists used the building as their urban gallery. The juxtaposition between the decay of the building, the garbage left on the ground against these colorful and artistic murals fascinates me. Several murals have been tagged over by other artists, adding a new voice to what is already there.

Photographing this series opened my eyes to the art that is around us everywhere. Art, that may typically go un-noticed with our busy schedules. I invite you to explore my series and contemplate the meaning the artist meant to convey. I continue to search our environment for new examples of this urban art form.

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

